Lucas, Dr. Thomas E., House

National Register Listing
Street Address:
716 W. Main St.

[BLANK]

Record Number:
S10817713003
Description and Narrative:
The Dr. Thomas E. Lucas House is a two-story frame house built ca. 1868. The house has a central-hall plan, a three-bay façade, and a one-story porch across the façade. A medium pitched gable roof is covered with composition shingles. The house has a one-story wing at the rear. The central doorway has four paneled sidelights and a transom. An antebellum smokehouse, a ca. 1885 gazebo (originally used as a hothouse), and several other outbuildings are located on the spacious, tree-shade grounds. The house is associated with Dr. Thomas E. Lucas, a farmer, physician and politician. In 1864 Lucas resigned his position as a lieutenant in Company A in the Fifteenth Battalion, South Carolina Artillery, to serve in the South Carolina House of Representatives. According to Lucas’s granddaughter, Dorothy Cannon Gibbons, the residence was constructed with money Lucas earned as a physician for Union troops stationed in Chesterfield after the Civil War. Tradition also states that former Confederate soldiers returning from the war individually carved the home’s unique interior mantels. This house is representative of the typical residences of the nineteenth century: a two-story, central-hall farmhouse facing the main street with extensive lands around and behind the structure. Listed in the National Register May 4, 1982.
Period of Significance:
1868
Level of Significance:
Local
Area of Significance:
Social History
National Register Determination:
listed
Date of Certification:
May 4 1982