Enston Home Cottage #15

Historic Property
Alternate Name:
Street Address:
900 King St., Charleston, SC (Charleston County)

Site Number:
Control Number:
Tax Number:
Date Surveyed:
April 16 2003
Construction Date:
circa 1888
Historic Use:
Current Use:
Historic Core Shape:
Architect or Builder:
Howe, W.B.W. (architect), Grant, Colin P. (contractor), McArrel, Robert (mason)
Number of Stories:
Construction Method:
Exterior Walls Materials:
Foundation Materials:
Roof Shape:
hip with crossing gables
Roof Materials:
composition shingle
Porch Width:
entrance bay only
Porch Shape:
National Register Determination:
Signficant Architectural Features:
The cottages are L-shaped, two-story brick buildings on brick basements with a covered one-story entrance at the inside corner of the L. The walls are stretcher-bond red brick with red mortar. The cottages have gabled front and south side projection; south side interior brick corbelled chimney; and a north side exterior corbelled chimney. The front gable has a parapet with concrete coping, ends, cross work across gable, and finial; lunette with heavy arch in gable end. There are 2/2 upper and side lower windows with concrete lintels and sills; and a parapet wall over porch roof. The porch has battered brick porch support; Syrian arches on front porch opening and north front window. The south side front window and side porch opening are round-arched. The lower arches have concrete voussoirs and keystones. The front lower windows are multi/1. Additionally, a belt course goes along springers of Syrian arches; and a diagonal soldier brick pattern with center shield below north window.
Tin shingle roof replaced in 1989, per NRHP nomination
Historical Information:
One of nineteen original cottages built in the Enston Home Complex. William Enston died in 1859 and left money in his estate to establish a home for the elderly based on examples in his native Canterbury. Architect W.B.W. Howe designed Picturesque rows and Romanesque buildings. The complex also had a sewage system designed by Rudolph Hering. Contractor Colin P. Grant and mason Robert McArrel oversaw construction.
Source of Historical Information:
The William Enston NRHP nomination
Quadrangle Name: